Snowkiting gear?

Daily Wind forecasts, questions about weather, gear, locations, etc.

Snowkiting gear?

Postby Erik Holmgren » Sun Aug 17, 2008 11:19 am

Hey all, I'm relatively new to the sport. My dad has been kiting for a while, and just managed to get me into the sport. I'm an instructor up at Alta and would like to crossover into snowkiting.

What brands/models, and types/sizes of kites do you guys reccomend for back-country kiting? Or at the spot near the Home-Depot in Park City? I'm 6'1, 190, and will probably be riding either Fischer Watea's(101 underfoot, 192cm) or Head Supermojo's(105 underfoot, 191cm)
Erik Holmgren

Re: Snowkiting gear?

Postby Mark Johnson » Sun Aug 17, 2008 12:32 pm

Foils are nice if you plan on going far from the car. This is because you do not need a pump should you spring a leak. The older Inflatables can have problems with the nipples if it is very cold out. They have worked this problem out on the newer kites. The inflatables are nice because when it warms up you can use them on the water also. Their has been some discussion on using foils vs inflatables for gliding and safety. More attchment points on the foils vs only 4 on an inflatable. Ozone and Best both have local reps so it is easy to get good service on these products.(And they Rock!) What does your dad fly? I would suggest going to one of the local events and watch learn ask questions and possibly demo before you buy.
Mark Johnson

Postby Erik Holmgren » Sun Aug 17, 2008 5:36 pm

Thanks for the info, I hadn't even thought about the added space of the pump. Are the events posted elsewhere in the forum?

Right now my dad's riding a 17m Cabrinha Contra, a 15m RRD type 6, and a 12m RRD type z- both the RRD kites have 5th line rigs attatched.

We also have an older 8m F-one Shadow ram air kite, 3 line sitting around somewhere.

Are C-kites still used on snow, or have people moved to the newer bow shapes for the most part?