Old to SL, new to wind sports

For beginners of kiting or windsurfing, or people new to the area to introduce themselves and ask questions.
Forum rules
Welcome to the Utah Windrider's Association
-This forum is for people new to the area or just getting into Windsurfing, Snowkiting, or Water Kiting. Please reference which sport(s) in your subject heading.
-Please introduce yourself and tell a bit about how you got into the sport.
-Hopefully people will be able to answer any questions that you might have. Please see the "Learn to Windsurf" or "Learn to Kite" links above.
-It is UWA website policy to register using your full name. First name initial/full last name is acceptable. Thanks for your cooperation.
-We were all beginners at one time, hopefully we'll all remember that in this forum.

Old to SL, new to wind sports

Postby dallinking » Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:44 pm

Hi all. My names Dallin and I'm pretty new to the kiting sports.

I've got a lot of experience in board sports (snow, wake, skate, mountain) but almost 0 experience with big ass kites, though I was very comfortable flying a 3m trainer kite I use to have. The one experience I had with my c-kite was getting on plain, only to have one of the lines become disconnected.

I'm interested in land/snow/water kiting, but am pretty limited on gear, and don't have a lot of money to blow on new stuff. Currently I have a 2006 slingshot 16m 5-line c-kite, kiteboard & snowboard. I plan on getting an 11 or 12m bow or hybrid kite to reduce my windspeed limitations. I've tried to go out a few times but haven't been able to get the right conditions or company.

I'd really like to make some friends from this board so I can have people to go out with (that have a kite) and who either know what they're doing, or are quickly learning. However, I believe I'm limited to wind conditions of about 8-15mph.